Welcome to the Ultimate Netball Club

20th May 2019

As another season comes to a close, we held our annual Awards at Double Tree by Hilton Hotel in Milton Keynes yesterday afternoon, Sunday 19th May.

This has always been a well attended event with players & staff from our Mavericks Minis & Futures Academies, through the U17/U19/U21 Pathway and our VNSL squad attending along with our amazing volunteers, partners, sponsors, family & friends.

Our Director of Netball Kat Ratnapala opened the Awards who said 'I am so proud to see so many of you here today to celebrate being part of Saracens Mavericks. Since the partnership announced with Saracens earlier this year there has been a huge amount of work going on behind the scenes and I am very excited for the future of our franchise"

Presenting the various Awards with Kat were her fellow Pathway Coaches Sachel Grant (U21 Head Coach) & Tricia Kilzcynski (U19 Head Coach) recognising individual achievement of players in each age group.

The winners are listed here and those Pathway Players that were unable to attend the Awards will have theirs presented to them by their coaches;

MINIS Coaches Player Most Improved  
Blacks Charlotte Webster Anna Herbert  
Purple Hannah Knightbridge Regan Peters  
Walthamstow Francesca Slade Fran Nastri  
FUTURES Coaches Player Most Improved  
Basildon Uchechi Nze Chloe Oxford  
Bedford Naomi Smith Annabelle Foxall  
Harrow Elly Stonebridge Izzy Stonebridge  
Henley Tori Fisher Phoenix Kershaw  
Loughton Lili Andrews Amber Clark  
St Albans Justine Sansom Megan Boulton  
Thetford Sophie Wishlade Alice Shaw  
  Coaches Player Most Improved Players Player
U17 Charlotte Jennings-Evans Poppy Tydeman Amelia Barclay
U19 Bella Bayliss Jasmine Nightingale Aliyah Zaranyika
U21 Paige McCalla Louisa Hone Phoebe Cadogan
VNSL Jo Trip Georgia Lees Razia Quashie

There were 3 other special Awards presented;

VNSL Fans Player - a poll was run via our social media channels which received almost 500 votes. The votes for our top 3 were very close with the results shown below;

3RD PLACE - George Fisher

2ND PLACE - Jo Trip

1ST PLACE - Razia Quashie

MAGGIE JACKSON Achievement Award - this was presented by Sam Castle VNSL Team Manager in Maggie's absence who quoted;

'This player has shown determination for many years in the pathway to improve her performance. She has an enthusiastic and such a hardworking attitude to improve herself as well as a terrific Team attitude. This approach to performance has enabled her to be given this season several opportunities where she has had court time in pressurised matches and has coped with this very well and stepped up to the opposition. I am delighted to select this player and the award goes to Beth Ecuyer Dale'

Then onto the final Award which was presented by our Franchise Director Gloria Keech the VOLUNTEER Award. This was awarded to JIM KEECH, Gloria's husband who is part of our 25 strong volunteer team and who is pivotal on match days from setting up the venues & being on the ticket desk plus a whole list of other tasks that Jim assists Gloria with in the day-to-day running of Saracens Mavericks.


There were other presentations to Cliff Stonestreet & Tracey deVere White from FTF Worldwide Event Management who deliver our match day lighting & sound. They were presented a signed VNSL match dress by our captain Sasha Corbin & Vice Captain Lindsay Keable.


AND FINALLY, our amazing Volunteers. They were presented with signed cards by our VNSL squad and a small token of appreciation for their hard work throughout the season on match days & behind the scenes. These Volunteers are truly the backbone of our franchise and we are so very grateful to every single person who gives up their time for the #MavsFam. THANK YOU.


All of the photos from our Awards can be found on our Facebook page here Saracens Mavericks


Congratulations to all the award winners and thank you to everyone who joined us for the afternoon. We hope you had a fabulous time and look forward to seeing you next season.